Posted by: redqueen | June 12, 2009

A World Without Water

I did not think there was anything that could truly shock me any more, but watching A World Without Water has. I have managed to emotionally detach myself from the horrors of war, torture and abuse but watching a young girl crying because she has no friends as her family cannot afford water blind-sided me.
The privatisation of water has to be the greatest crime against humanity in the history of the world. It isn’t just affecting developing countries either, in Detroit, Michigan in the USA there are over 100,000 people without water because they cannot afford it. Water is essential to life and now it is being traded as a commodity. Is the UK exporting water? How long will it be, I wonder, for the insatiable greed for profit to extend it’s grasping claws into our lives…?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Atlas of Ice and Fire

The geography and maps of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire

Luis T.

“I don't share my thoughts because I think it will change the minds of people who think differently. I share my thoughts to show the people who already think like me that they're not alone.”

My life - various obsessions

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Nikolai Starikov in English

POLITICAL AND GEOPOLITICAL COMMENT FROM RUSSIA: original (unauthorized) translations of N. Starikov's blog, selected writings and video clips.

The Diary Of A Pensionless Pensioner

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Benjamin Studebaker

Yet Another Attempt to Make the World a Better Place by Writing Things

Vox Political

politics for the people

WWW.IAINROBWRIGHT.COM

FEAR ON EVERY PAGE

Nick Lewis

Web, Photography, Writing, Coding

theneedleblog

Bursting Inflated Egos and Pricking Dulled Consciences

Dáithaí C

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Approachably Reclusive

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Anakalian Whims

Meander through My Whimsical Mind

The Accidental Smallholder Diary

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Fischbowl

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Scarecrow's Garden

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Unbought Delicacies

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Welcome to Squirreldom

Just another WordPress.com weblog

